top of page
Search
  • Michael

#DES243 - the story and the artefacts

For our assignment 1 for DES243, we had to form a story that demonstrates the appearance, function, and context of usage of the envisioned assistive technology in 2050. I chose to create a graphic novel, I used Adobe Photoshop on my iPad to create the drawings and used Photoshop to create the layout with the text. Here is my graphic novel that I created.

The story behind it is used as a POV of a person waking up late and forgetting their bus card to catch the bus. I used this as my story as the tech ring that I envisioned would be used by everyone, not only disabled and elderly people. So I used a common story that people could relate and empathise more as I think most of us have slept in or was late to an event that we had to rush ourselves to go. This can help relate and create a connection towards the tech ring as it is very convenient to have it as it is common for people to keep their jewellery on them for majority of the time so that means it would just be mussel memory to put it on and head out the door as it can be used in many different ways.ned assistive technology.


I also created a visual prototype of the ring inside the software FUSION360. I chose this software as I am most familiar with the software as I had a lot of practice with it during DES100 and also found it the best for me.


This was the final prototype that I created with FUSION360 and below that are sketches that I created.

bottom of page